How is the removal of Company Personal Data handled?
What is personal data?
Personal data only includes information relating to natural persons who:
- can be identified or who are identifiable, directly from the information in question; or
- who can be indirectly identified from that information in combination with other information.
What is Company Personal Data?
When you use Malcolm! to collect information from your customers, suppliers, staff or others that information may include personal data. In this context, Malcolm! acts as your data processor and the personal data we may process on your behalf is referred to as Company Personal Data. You can read more about this here.
Removal of Company Personal Data
There are two tiers of data removal. The first is a recoverable delete, known also as a soft delete. The second is a permanent delete or purge. Malcolm! supports both types of data deletion.
Soft deletion means data is deleted enough to make it no longer visible or discoverable but not quite enough should it need to be recovered.
For example if you delete a Malcolm! Workflow in MyMalcolm then the Workflow and everything related to that Workflow is soft deleted. This means it'll all disappear from MyMalcolm and our APIs but should you realise the deletion was a mistake it could still be fully recovered (on request).
Purging is a permanent or secure delete. This could be either a physical delete (e.g. uploaded files on disk) or a nullification of stored values in a database. Once data has been purged it is no longer recoverable.
Rest assured, Malcolm! will never purge your data whilst your Instance is active!
What happens after my trial finishes?
After your 14 day trial period comes to an end your Instance will be disabled. From that point you'll have 30 days to subscribe to one of the plans. If no subscription is in place by then your Instance data will be soft deleted and after 120 days all Company Personal Data will be purged in accordance with our Data Processing Addendum.
What happens if my subscription lapses?
Subscriptions could lapse for a number of reasons but the most likely cause is an expired credit card. We'll keep you Instance active for 14 days to give you time to fix the problem.
If the problem is not fixed your Instance will be disabled but you'll still have a further 30 days to subscribe to a new plan should you wish to. If no subscription is in place by then your Instance data will be soft deleted and after 120 days all Company Personal Data will be purged in accordance with our Data Processing Addendum.
What happens after I delete my Instance?
You can request to have your Instance deleted and purged in
Settings > Instance > Delete Instance. After 30 minutes of requesting the deletion your Instance data will be soft deleted and after 120 days all Company Personal Data will be purged in accordance with our Data Processing Addendum.
Can I request just a Workflow data delete and purge?
Yes you can! Within MyMalcolm you can create a Workflow data deletion request. The Workflow data will be first be soft deleted and then 30 days later it will be purged.
See How do I delete data submitted to a Workflow? for more information.
For more information...
For more information please read the Data Processing Addendum.